Lessons I’m Learning

I am surrounded by beauty. Both in the shape of the breathing jungle around me, which I am not only glimpsing into as though through a window but living in and living with, and in 8 physicals forms that have entered my life in this whimsical jungle paradise. The yogis and three leaders have gathered to share their gifts, learn from each other and uphold the yogic philosophies we all aspire to dwell in the place of. We are all teachers and all sharing our wisdom as it is meant to come through us. Here are a few lessons I’ve learned so far.

1. Stay in tune with natures rhythms – time is a gentle illusion

We move easily from one activity to the other with little barriers of time. Our asana practice is defined by natures rhythms of when the sun wants to break through the sky. Bolo says it’s important to be aware of time, but not allow it to control us through our lives. Being far from time I realize I don’t need the reminder, I don’t need to rush, I don’t need to stress. Eckhart Tolle describes this beautifully:

Watch any plant or animal and let it teach you acceptance of what is, surrender to the Now.

Let it teach you Being.

Let it teach you integrity — which means to be one, to be yourself, to be real.

Let it teach you how to live and how to die, and how not to make living and dying into a problem.

2. Be aware of everything around you, but be most aware of yourself

Being around people who have a clear connection to energy, I discover that we all have empathic nature. We feel others around us, mainly in the physical realm but also sometimes beyond it. Everyone has felt this in some way, and most likely this is an experience noted and dismissed, possibly for fear of what it could mean or because the mind cannot comprehend the feelings associated with it. I learned through speaking to some who acknowledge this feeling that the consideration of energy is undeniable, though we must be strong enough to feel ourselves first. First and foremost, listen to the body – ask if it feels safe, and if not, how it wants to move towards safety. Another quote this clearly explains: “try to know others’ intentions, and if you can’t, understand your own.” Live strongly I’m what you know. If we all are driven by principles of love and goodness, then everything else we are exposed to becomes an opportunity to change and morph the energies into something more beneficial.

3. The only thing to fear is fear itself

Speaking to Bob one night, a friend that was the project manager of Portal when I stayed there for two months, I learned something new about fear. It is powerful, only as long as you let it control you. I always thought that the feeling of fear was crucial to my own protection, that if I felt fear I would stay away from danger as I would get the feeling at the time I needed to move away from it. But fear is not just a moment in time that tells you when you need safety, it is a disease that, if you let it, can be like a thread that weaves through the fabric of your life. Learn to retrain your mind about fear. Put it in a box and live outside that box. Live outside it so far that soon you’ll forget all about how the box existed in the first place.

Leave a Reply

